(Aquila fasciata)

The Bonelli’s Eagle is a large bird of prey, which is characteristic of the Mediterranean area. It is mainly found in biotopes of limestone cliffs (where it also nests), scrubland and cultivated areas.

Adulte_Bonelli_JCTempier_CENPACA_LIFE- Size: medium-sized eagle (wingspan of 145-165 cm).

- Migration behaviour: Adults are sedentary, while young and immature birds are rather erratic.

- Diet: The species usually hunts rabbits, crows, red-legged partridge, pigeons, etc. Occasionally, it captures gulls, various mustelids, young foxes, etc.

- Status: Bonelli’s Eagle is a globally threatened species. Less than 1,000 pairs breed in Europe. The French numbers have declined by almost 40% over the past 60 years and have reached about 30 pairs in 2013. This species is one of the rarest in France. It is therefore subject of a National Action Plan which has recently been renewed by the Ministry of Environment for a period of another 10 years.

- Presence in the Alpilles: The species is present with 4 breeding pairs. Their hunting areas cover the whole massif, where they use mainly open areas of scrubland, clearances in wooded areas as well as the agricultural plains at the foothills.

BackRead more…

(Bonelli’s Eagle – Aquila fasciata)

L’Aigle de Bonelli est une espèce caractéristique des milieux méditerranéens, fréquentant essentiellement les zones de falaises calcaires (où il installe son nid appelé « aire »), les zones de garrigue et de cultures.

Adulte_Bonelli_JCTempier_CENPACA_LIFE- Taille : c’est un aigle de taille moyenne (envergure de 145 à 165 cm).

- Comportement : les adultes sont sédentaires alors que les jeunes sont plutôt erratiques.

- Alimentation : considéré comme un « super-prédateur », il chasse habituellement des lapins, des corneilles, des Perdrix rouges, des pigeons, etc. Occasionnellement, il peut capturer des goélands, divers mustélidés(…), de jeunes renards, etc.

- Statut de l’espèce : l’espèce est menacée à l’échelon mondial. Moins de 1.000 couples se reproduisent en Europe. Les effectifs français ont diminué de près de 40% au cours des 60 dernières années, pour arriver à 30 couples environ en 2013. Cette espèce est l’une des plus rares en France. Elle fait donc l’objet d’un Plan National d’Actions qui vient d’être renouvelé par le Ministère de l’Environnement pour une durée de 10 ans.

- Présence dans les Alpilles : 4 couples se reproduisent au sein du massif. Ils chassent sur l’ensemble du massif, dans les zones ouvertes de garrigues, au-dessus des secteurs plus boisés et dans les plaines agricoles au niveau des piémonts.

BackEn savoir plus…